EPCOT World Showcase (Part 2)

We finished up Future World around 11:30 and were ready to head to World Showcase for some lunch.  Our plans for the afternoon included:

  • Visit the remaining countries in World Showcase (Mexico, Norway, China, Italy)
  • 2:15 – Behind the Seeds Tour (back in Future World)
  • 4:30-5:30 – Fastpass+ for Mickey and Friends
  • 6:15 – Dinner at Via Napoli

We were all pretty hungry and really only had a couple of countries left to explore since we’d made it a little more than halfway on Monday.  We had dinner plans in Italy, which just left Mexico, Norway (although we’d had breakfast there – there were a few snacks I was really interested in trying), and China. So, we decided rather than just snacking in Mexico, we’d actually eat lunch. So our first stop was La Cantina de San Angel.

The boys each tried the kids’ Empanadas con Queso, which they said were “okay”. M had the Tacos de Pescado, which were good but not anywhere close to the fish tacos he’d had at the Wave. G & I both went with Nachos (no jalapeños). The nachos were good.  Nothing overly special about them,but they were tasty and filled us up enough to make it to the next stop. The adult meals came with Churros, so we had three orders of churros to share.  The churros went fast – the kids absolutely loved them!

La Cantina was a nice little lunch spot. We ate at a table right off the water, so it was a nice place to view the World Showcase. The seating area was pretty crowded though, since it was starting to sprinkle again and it was covered.

After lunch, we headed over to the giant pyramid.

Inside the Mexico Pavilion
Inside the Mexico Pavilion

I had considered reservations in Mexico, but we have good Mexican restaurants in Iowa, so I didn’t do it. But this is a beautiful spto, so maybe in the future.

Instead, we headed over to ride The Gran Fiesta Tour starring the Three Caballeros.

Thankfully, the kids had seen the Three Caballeros movie during one of our movie nights, so they knew the characters. It’s a cute ride, but I’m guessing most kids don’t have a clue who the Three Caballeros are.  After the ride, we did a little shopping and trying on hats.

Goofy children wearing sombreros
Goofy children wearing sombreros

Next we headed toward Norway, with a stop to meet a favorite of our family.

In Norway, we stopped at Kringla Bakery og Cafe for some snacks that I had read were “must eats” in EPCOT…school bread and a troll horn.

The school bread had cardamom in it, which gave it a little bit of an interesting flavor. It was also topped with toasted coconut. I absolutely LOVED the school bread! The kids and M weren’t fans – they thought the flavor was “odd”.  That’s fine…more for me! The troll horn was really sweet. The kids loved it. I wasn’t fond of this one, so I stuck to my school bread.

With the Troll in Norway
With the Troll in Norway

By this time, it was raining pretty hard, so we made a mad dash for China, stopping briefly at Joy of Tea for egg rolls. I’ve had much better egg rolls at…well, pretty much any place I’ve ever had egg rolls.  Since it was raining, no picture. We didn’t spend a lot of time in China since it was wet and we had our tour to get to, but we did want to check out the House of the Whispering Willows.

So, we had made it through every country except Italy at this point. Since we were headed back there for dinner, we went ahead and turned back toward Future World to go to the Land Pavilion for our Behind the Seeds Tour.

7 thoughts on “EPCOT World Showcase (Part 2)

    1. It is. It’s fun and a nice way to introduce the kids to other cultures without actually being able to take them to those countries, though. I have to say I wasn’t as impressed with world showcase as I had hoped to be. It is a lot of shopping. The kids did enjoy talking to the various cast members from the countries and learning to say “hello” and “thank you” in all the languages, as well as eating the food. If you just wanted to snack and maybe look around at the sites, it would be easy to do all of World Showcase in a couple of hours.

      Like

  1. Like you I kind of wish the World Showcase was a little more “involved” and less money-centric, but I’ve always had fun trying foods and exploring every time I’ve been. I’ve never actually seen The Three Caballeros, but I remember enjoying the ride as a child. (It probably helped that there was water involved!) If you were to go again, is there anything you would do differently?

    Like

    1. I think if (when….) we go back to EPCOT, I would divide it up differently. I’d originally planned to do Future World one day and World Showcase a second day, but was talked out of it and into the left/right split thing. I think next time, I’d plan just one day now that we’ve done it. We’d spend the morning in Future World, head over to World Showcase for some snacking/lunch, then hit anything we missed in Future World before eating dinner. I also think I’d be more adventuresome with where we ate dinner. I stuck to England and Italy because they seemed “safe” with our kids who aren’t known to be very good about trying new food. But they really like schwarma, so I’m thinking we could do something a little more unique.

      Like

  2. I used to be obsessed with Epcot when I was younger! It was my favorite part of Disney World (go figure). I loved trying all the different cuisines and trying to get my passport stamped at all the locations! Looks like you guys had a great time!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

